Final Draft

It was a cold and lonely winter day,

When dozens of couples would have a stroll.

But I alone with my thoughts and dismay,

No one by me in the city of Seoul.

I’ve seen lovers packed with great emotion,

I’ve overheard cringing proposals.

But I would end up with my heart broken,

With all hope thrown back into disposal.

Longing for this lonely day to wrap up,

I plug my earphones on to soothe my mind.

But sad love songs would come and interrupt,

And deep absorption, would kill me in bed.

Hopefully one day I will get that “yes”,

‘Til that day, my life is not a success.

The poem above is a Shakespearean Sonnet. It is written in an iambic pentameter and has a rhyme scheme of “ababcdcdefefgg.” The poem is about a man’s lonely winter day. It begins with a general setting so that the reader is able to easily picture what kind of situation the main character is in. Then, it talks about how the man is depressed because he doesn’t have a partner to enjoy the day with. It ends with the main character expressing his determination to find a partner that he will spend a lifetime with.

Rough Draft

It was that one day in February,

Where dozens of couples would have a stroll.

But I would stand here on low battery,

No one by me in the city of Seoul.

I’ve seen lovers packed with great emotion,

I’ve overheard cringing proposals.

But I would end up with my heart broken,

With all hope thrown back into disposal.

Longing for this lonely day to wrap up,

I plug my earphones on to soothe my mind.

But sad love songs would come and interrupt,

And deep absorption, would kill me in bed.

Hopefully one day I will get that “yes”,

‘Til that day, my life is not a success.

The poem above is a Shakespearean Sonnet. It is written as an iambic pentameter and has a rhyme scheme of “ababcdcdefefgg.” The poem is about a lonely man’s day on valentine’s day. It begins with a general setting so that the reader is able to easily picture what kind of situation the main character is in. Then, it talks about how the man is depressed because he doesn’t have a partner to enjoy such a day like valentine’s. It ends with the main character expressing his determination to find a partner that he will spend a lifetime with.

 

Reflection:

The Shakespearean Sonnet was another poem I enjoyed writing. After Mr. Nollan had suggested to the class that writing a love-related poem would be recommended when writing a sonnet, I was immediately able to think of what I was going to write about. At first, I thought that having 10 syllables a line and having an “abab cdcd efef gg” rhyme scheme was going to be a tiring task. However, it turned out to be fun to try to figure out with my classmates how I could fit what I wanted to say into 10 syllables and make them rhyme as well.

